Tags

“He set my feet upon a rock”

Everyone has times of trouble, whether financial, spiritual, family, or otherwise.  As Christians, we know that this life is but a wisp, and we only have to seek counsel from God, and our mediator, Jesus Christ.

Many times in life we do not ponder when in tribulation that God is sovereign over all things, and even though there is a temporary ruler of this world (Satan), that also is but a wisp to be concluded in due time.

Psalm 40 of the Bible addresses two things:  Seeking God’s mercies in times of tribulation, and the foretelling of the Messiah, Jesus Christ.

First, let us consider the opening:

{40:1} “I waited patiently for the LORD; and He inclined unto me, and heard my cry.

{40:2} He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, [and] established my goings.

{40:3} And He hath put a new song in my mouth, [even] praise unto our
God: many shall see [it,] and fear, and shall trust in the LORD.”

In the first three verses, we find that ALL who seek the Lord will find He responds.  Even the “worst” of us, (and the Bible clearly says the first shall be last, and the humble shall overtake the proud) if you seek patiently for the Lord, instead of thinking YOU can get YOURSELF out of a jam, will find He “inclines” to you (literally, He will look down from Heaven, and consider you individually), because He hears your cry.  If you listen very carefully to what He is trying to say to you, He will lift you out of your troubles, and set you upon the rock.  Of course, that means THE rock of salvation, Jesus Christ, upon which nothing can sweep you away.  Finally, when He does this, people will see the change in you, that you have become a new person, and they will understand.

How long the Lord waits for us!  I have many times, in irrational emotional behavior, failed to remember this Psalm, and every single time it left me in a worse state than I started.  How often I have given the Accuser cause to prosecute me before the Lord, simply because I did not remember this verse!  How often do we think our problems are uniquely burdensome, harder to bear than anything someone else may have?

Yet, if we diligently inquire unto God, He will incline and “come down to us”, and we will know and feel His presence.

How do we know God is constantly concerned with what is going on in our lives? Read the following:

{40:5} “Many, O LORD my God, [are] thy wonderful works [which] thou hast
done, and thy thoughts [which are] to us-ward: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee: [if] I would declare and speak [of them,] they are more than can be numbered.”

“More than can be numbered” are the thoughts of God towards us.  That should be comforting in your time of sorrow; if only we all (of which I am chief of those) could remember this…

And then we come to a prophecy, wonderful to behold:

{40:7} “Then said I, Lo, I come: in the volume of the book [it is]
written of me,

Now we know of whom David is speaking in this Psalm.  It is of “His Lord” who he saw sitting on the right hand side of God – Jesus Christ.  For it is He whom the Bible prophecies of, right from the Book of Genesis all the way up until His appearance on Earth.

How magnificent and yet simple His introduction and claim to the title Messiah!  “Then said I, Lo, I come:  in the volume of the book it is written of me”.

And look what this psalm (i.e, prayer or hymn) gives us as an example of how to think of the Lord when we accept Him into our lives:

{40:11} “Withhold not thou thy tender mercies from me, O LORD: let thy
lovingkindness and thy truth continually preserve me.

Yes, it is true – God is willing and able, even fully desiring to continually preserve us in his lovingkindness.  Not as a robot we were formed, where we automatically do everything He wants us to – we are marvelous and awesome creatures because we have “Free Will” – and the exercise of that free will to turn to God is what opens up his mercy towards us.

Please remember, though all may have forsaken you, there is One who is watching, and keeping your care in His thoughts always, if you patiently wait upon Him…

I waited patiently for the Lord
He inclined and heard my cry
He lift me up out of the pit
Out of the miry clay

I will sing, sing a new song
I will sing, sing a new song

