JesusVsRelEngagePg

There is chaos all around – wars, earthquakes and tsunami’s, “terrorism”, murder, mayhem. In such a cauldron of misery such as this, what is there to celebrate?

Let us contemplate as others do, a world without God in charge. In this vision (evolutionary theory), only the strongest survive. The weak, the helpless, and invalid are allowed (and even assisted) to die. Wars and rumors of wars are the effect of this theory which states “if I am stronger than you, I deserve what you have”. This becomes the law of the jungle, reducing us to beast-mentality.

If we are nothing more than animals, then where does empathy come in? People will degenerate into a horrid state, with no feeling for their fellow human beings.

It is easy in these times to let THE accuser creep in unawares, telling the age-old lie: God is not interested in the affairs of men, you are on your own, so live your life as you will, for tomorrow you die.

How many social influences preach that very concept, albeit in a subtle way?

Yet, there is a plan. There is a God, and He IS interested in the affairs of men. He has pre-ordained the destiny of this world, and though it be given over (to a degree) temporarily, THE Accuser will come to his end.

So, where does that leave you and I? To believe that all is lost, and that nothing matters as long as “we get ours”?

We are not animals, contrary to all the evidence in support of it. We were created in the image of God, whose very breath brought life into our “jar of clay”, thus giving us two bodies, physical and spiritual wherein we have a soul:

“…I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made : marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well…” — Psalm 139:14

God has given each one of us reason and therefore free will to decide what we believe. We can choose to believe in a system that values nothing except pleasure, which by it’s very nature leaves you empty and hollow.

The media just reported that the number of suicides among “middle-age” people has increased 30% in the last 10 years…yet this is the generation (the so-called “Baby Boomers”, of which I am one) who’s mantra was to self-actualize in a base orgy of narcissism and “living for the day”.

What did these people, in their 50’s and 60’s, forget? Did they fail to realize the evidence of God’s presence in their lives? No one said it would be a bed of roses, and for 99% of us, it is not.

But even in the darkness there is a candle that will not be hid. The Lord tells us that He will never give us a burden we cannot bear:

There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” — 1st Corinthians 10:13

note it doesn’t mean we wont be burdened. Remember that the Accuser works every day in every life, attempting to turn us away from God. His method’s are based on thousands of years of practice, and will not always present themselves so plainly that we see it coming.

“…And no marvel; for Satan himself is transformed into an angel of light…” 2nd Corinthians 11:14

We are attacked from all sides, spiritually and physically, and in this attack we can not find anything outside of God to fill our emptiness. Not Psychotropic drugs, not Yoga, not “meditation”, not distractions, not “careers”, not materialism. God saw this day and knew we could not stand alone in the face of the attack. He knew that, if He were to judge us on our own, each of us would fail the test.

So God, in infinite love and a wisdom I cannot begin to fathom, presented His Son, Jesus Christ, to stand between His judgement and us.

“…Who is he that condemneth? It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us…” — Romans 8:34

It is unknowable to understand how God could so love us, his pitiful, evil creatures (and sorry to inform you, but we are all evil), “…As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:..” (Romans 3:10)

as to allow His Son to take the punishment for us, once and for all. This is the one true “Mystery of the Ages” that those outside Christianity can never understand. (And sorry also to inform you, Christianity is not a religion, it is following Christ; easy to forget that in the face of all the corrupted church institutions that exist today in the service of the Liar)

So, understand that though the entire world of your existence may be despair there is no burden the Lord will place on you that you cannot bear, IF YOU BELIEVE. I am chief among those who can testify to this. I am a wretched sinner, nothing good in me, yet though the Accuser has attacked me many times in ways you would never believe, I felt the love of the ONE protecting me even when I thought I could handle no more. Things I thought should never have happened turned out to be exactly for the best, and through everything in my wretched life, I have felt the ONE, Jesus Christ, watching over me, telling me that He will defend me to the face of the Father, and silence the Accusations thrown against me by that being destined for eternal destruction.

What have you done to deserve that kind of love? I know I don’t deserve it, and could NEVER earn it. It is a gift, grace, that has been presented to me, on the condition that I accept it from the ONE Saviour for all mankind, Jesus Christ and believe in HIM.

I thank God that He presented this gift to me, for otherwise I am dead already.

Yet, I am not dead. Though the Accuser of this world can kill my body, he cannot have my soul unless I freely give it to him. That is a comforting thought. Our lives are but whispers on the wind, to be replaced by an eternity of love or destruction…and no one has that choice but You.

So remember that you are not alone in this world, there is ONE who loves you, and willingly gave ALL so that ALL would live, and for that we should be comforted indeed. Reason enough to celebrate the love of the ONE, Jesus Christ…

“…The glory of the LORD shall endure for ever: the LORD shall
rejoice in his works.
He looketh on the earth, and it trembleth: he toucheth the
hills, and they smoke.
I will sing unto the LORD as long as I live: I will sing
praise to my God while I have my being.
My meditation of him shall be sweet: I will be glad in the
LORD…”

–Psalm 104:31-34

Many, O LORD my God, [are] thy wonderful works [which] thou hast
done, and thy thoughts [which are] to us-ward:
they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee:
[if] I would declare and speak [of them,] they are more than can be numbered.

Then said I, Lo, I come: in the volume of the book [it is]
written of me
— Psalm 40:7
If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probably explanation is that I was made for another world.
– “Mere Christianity”, C.S. Lewis

 



