If you read the “About” link at the top of this Blog, you will find that I have created it primarily for non-Christians.  I hope that this Blog can convince them (you?) that God is real, Jesus is real, and that there is always hope awaiting them.

Every once in a while, I need to remind myself that I am no different than them, save Jesus Christ in my life.  I think a real Christian (hopefully includes me) knows one thing:

We are all sinners, fallen from grace, and cannot approach God by ourselves.  We need an inter-mediator for us, who is Jesus Christ.

I am worse than almost any Christian, because God has  been over me, protecting me all my life, and yet, I still sin…but with the saving knowledge that One died so that all might live, and He LIVES NOW, ready to bring all under His eternal grace, I live another day in confidence.

So, in that light, let me share a “Thought of the Day” that my wife sent me.  She is not the author, but every day of her life she takes the time to find, and share these to all who “answer the door” when she knocks…I hope, if you are not a Christian, you answer the door this website is knocking at…


If the Lord delights in a man’s way, he makes his steps firm; though he stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.” Psalm 37:23-24

This week I ate lunch with a man who told me how he came to Christ just a few years ago. He said that after his conversion, someone asked him to explain what it really means to be a Christian. What difference does Jesus make once He becomes both Lord and Savior? His answer was profound: “I’ve learned that I can sin but I can’t enjoy it like I used to.” You can still sin, and you can enjoy it for a while, but not forever. God will not let His children enjoy the pleasures of sin indefinitely. Sooner or later, He steps in and brings His wandering sons and daughters back home to Him.

A Christians life is hilly...

A Christians life is hilly…

If we graphed the spiritual experience of most Christians, it would move up and down, up and down, up and down – but always moving in a generally upward direction. At any given moment, the graph of your life may show you relatively up or relatively down spiritually. You may be down for a long time, but if you know Jesus, eventually you will start moving up again. I draw two conclusions from this:

1. Direction makes the difference.
2. True believers move toward heaven.

It is possible to fall into grievous sin, but that’s not where we belong, and we will not stay there forever. If you are a Christian, you won’t be comfortable living in sin The direction of your life will be away from sin and toward Jesus Christ. It has been said that, “I would rather be one foot away from hell heading toward heaven than one foot away from heaven heading toward hell.” Direction makes the difference.

Some people are saved one foot from hell. God turns them around at the very brink of the pit. When they are saved, they still have the smell of brimstone in their clothing. That’s why new Christians sometimes look and act pretty rough. They’ve been snatched from the flames. Some of those same people will still look rough after five or ten years. That’s OK because they started so low. You don’t judge people by where they are now, but by where they’ve come from. Take heart in God’s restoring grace. The only thing that matters is to keep moving in the right direction.

The direction of the true believer is always ultimately toward heaven. Sometimes we fly like the eagle. Sometimes we run with stallions. Sometimes we walk in victory. And sometimes we’re just stumbling upward. I love that phrase – stumbling upward. That’s the testimony of nearly all God’s saints – we’re stumbling upward toward heaven.
Father, I praise You for grace so great that it goes beyond
my sin, finds me where I have fallen, picks me up, and
sets my feet back on the road to heaven. Amen.

